Five districts of Karachi restored, Notification Issued

 CNews World KARACHI: Sindh Government on late Sunday night issued notification of restoration of all the five districts of Karachi division, Geo News reported.
According to the notification issued from Chief Minister House, stated that according to the Sindh Revenue Ordinance, Karachi division included district South, Malir, Central, East and West district.
Hyderabad has been given a status of division and has been divided into five districts. These districts included district Hyderabad, Badin, Thatta, Jamshoro and district Dadu.
Mirpurkhas division has been divided into four districts that included district Mirpurkhas, Tharparkar, Umerkot and district Sanghar.
Districts of Sukkur division included Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Naushero Feroz and district Benazirabad, while Larkana division included district Larkana, Qambar/Shahdadkot, Shikarpur, Jacobabad and district Kashmore.
Every division has been divided into its old district-format – as at the time of commissionerate system in place before Sindh Local Government Ordinance 2001.
Another notification of the Sindh Government stated that DCOs appointed at divisional headquarters of Karachi division, Larkana, Hyderabad, Mirpurkhas and Sukkur division would assume temporary charge of the Commissioner.

1 Response to " Five districts of Karachi restored, Notification Issued "

  1. Anonymous says:

    It is totally baseless to say that PPP has divided Karachi into five districts mainly a prelude to the forthcoming local bodies’ and general elections but it is just for the purpose of better administration. Karachi is multi-facial, multi-ethnic city and therefore ethnic clashes have become a routine matter. Therefore there was no other choice except to restore commissionerate system and divide city into constituencies. Till the issue of census, voters’ lists and constituencies’ redemarcation is not settled, the Karachiites will remain on tenterhooks, as more violence cannot be ruled out. The MQM is at fault in not accepting the fact that re-demarcation of constituencies is inevitable and the city representation has to be shared with other ethnic communities living in Karachi. No ethnic community should claim that they have the exclusive right to rule any city. Cosmopolitan cities like Karachi belong to all and their representation at the local, provincial and national levels has to reflect the demographic mix. This is essential when the melting pot of mega cities have not yet integrated all the ethnic communities into one. This is essential when the MQM and ANP have merged as ethnic parties in spite of their feeble efforts to rise as national parties.

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Powered by Blogger